Family Crest

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family Crest

I finished carving a family crest for our son's 40th birthday coming up this week. Whew! Just barely got it completed in time!

As you can see I'm a novice carver, but enjoyed the process.

Butternut crest, mounted to a piece of quilted cherry. Spray finish of Target Coating's EM2000.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Schlosser Family Crest Andrew.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	1150040
    All the best,

Marty

President of Kingston Wood Artisans (formerly Kingston Woodworkers Ass'n) Website: https://kwoodartca.wordpress.com/
    & member of the Kingston Woodturners Association
  • Thread Continues Below...

Re: Family Crest

It looks great Marty. Can you describe it to us? I see the key, the knights helmet, the two five-leafed flowers, but I'm having a hard time deciding if the items coming up the sides are leafed vines or ?? they almost looked like leafed serpents?

cheers

Comment

Hey, John,

Based on your comment, it's pretty clear that I've overestimated my expertise level!

The Schlosser family crest is actually a key with two edelweiss flowers. The rest of it was taken from a carving book by a highly accomplished carver by the name of Butz, which has the knight's helmet surmounted by two arms. The "items coming up the sides" as you've put it, are supposed to be leafed vines. And, of course, the family name is carved into the ribbon beneath.
      All the best,

Marty

President of Kingston Wood Artisans (formerly Kingston Woodworkers Ass'n) Website: https://kwoodartca.wordpress.com/
      & member of the Kingston Woodturners Association

Comment

Originally posted by MartyFromKingston View Post
        Hey, John,

Based on your comment, it's pretty clear that I've overestimated my expertise level!